Who makes this stuff up?

· stress
Authors

I have been quoting a disturbing statistic for so long, I started to wonder if I was remembering it correctly.  I had recalled from my internship during graduate school at the Alzheimer’s Association that 50% of caregivers die before the person they are caring for.  But over the years enough people had questioned that number, so I looked it up tonight:

Support for Dementia Caregivers

by admin

Dementia caregivers need all of the support they can get.

Here is why:
“Caregivers are themselves subject to increased incidence of depression, anxiety, and, in some cases, physical health issues. The Alzheimer’s Association quotes the disturbing statistic that 50% of caregivers die before the person they are caring for. The supposition is that percentage is so high because of the stress that caregivers are under. Therefore, it is recommended that caregivers find and utilize as many resources as possible, to reduce their stress. “
Source: Wikipedia – Caregiving and dementia

There you have it!  And while this a disturbing statistic because it could be interpreted as a potential death sentence for some people, but for me it is a vindication that I am on the right track with my caregiver stress management programs.  The cornerstone of which is the Guided Imagery CD that I created for the University of Southern California’s Caregiver Resource Center.  (By the way, if you sign up for my newsletter you will almost instantly get the first track from that CD emailed to you. Just go to EasyCaregiving.com instructions are included.)

This CD has been reported to immediately reduce blood pressure, and not only that,  it helps people to subconsciously  reframe their reactions so that they remain calm and relaxed in situations that used to drive them batty.

You can buy the CD for $20 t0 $30 at sites like www.healthjourney.com, but I will be giving them away when I launch my membership program www.AlzheimerSecrets.com (in pre-launch right now until February 28).

If you are a caregiver, I can help you.  Whether its advice dealing with difficult behaviors or finding ways to get hard to find new drugs or how to save a lot of money of products and services.  I can only do it consistantly if you are on my contact list. The fast way right now to get on that list is to go to www.easycaregiving.com.

Leave a Reply

